Blessed by God so that we may help others


St Mary’s is a Voluntary Aided Catholic Primary School. The school was founded by Buckfast Abbey in 1893. The school was founded to be run with a Catholic ethos and voluntary aided status enables the founding trust (Buckfast Abbey) to preserve the schools ethos by appointing the majority of the governors (these are called the Foundation Governors). Unlike other types of state schools, in voluntary aided schools the founding trust owns the land and buildings and the governing body employs the staff. The school joined the new Academy for Catholic schools in the diocese on 1st April 2014 known as Plymouth CAST..

The structure of the governing body

The Instrument of Government of St. Mary’s, states that the Governing Body is made up of the following:

  • 6 Foundation Governors
  • 1 Parent Governor
  • 1 Staff Governor
  • The Headteacher may be a Governor if they wish. If they do not wish to be a Governor they still attend all meetings.

The Governing Body

Father Francis
jonathan deacon
Nicola Slack
Father Francis Straw
(Chair of Governors, Foundation Governor, ECM Committee, Assets Committee)
Jonathan Deacon
(Vice-chair of Governors, Foundation Governor, Chair of Assets Committee)
Nicola Slack
deborah tony Paddy Mahon
Deborah Fisher
(Chair of ECM Committee, Foundation Governor)
Tony Luscombe
(Foundation Governor, ECM Committee)
Mr Paddy Mahon
(Assets Committee)
Becky Dance
Mr Mark Norman
(Foundation Governor, ECM Committee)
Mrs Rebecca Dance
(Parent Governor, Assets Committee)

Mrs Coralie Cherrett

(Staff Governor, ECM Committee)

Mary Waterman
 Mary Waterman
Clerk to the Governing Body


  • University of Exeter ITT Partner